A new breed of giving- microphilanthropists

I just read a very inspiring story on Carlo Garcio, a Chicago blogger that has recently forgone his morning cup of joe in exchange for making the world a better place.

While I don’t advocate giving up caffeine (g-d only knows that I would never last without it myself!), I found his story of giving dollars (not hundreds or thousands) at a time to be extremely touching. Carlo literally chooses a different cause each day to give his $5 latte money to. With thousands of causes world-wide I’m sure he can continue this trend for many years to come. Maybe I’ll follow his lead and start by giving up my weekly (okay, sometimes thrice-weekly) grilled cheese.

Read the article on Carlo here.

This entry was posted in News, Social Action (Tikkun Olam). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment